Home Page
Spill Monitor
Energy Risks
Our Approach
Solutions
Rethinking Oil Spill Response
About RESTCo
Contact Us
Library
Beaufort Sea Project Reprints
Ottawa Forum - Inuvik Roundtable Review of Off-shore Arctic Drilling
Opportunities
Links
*RSS
Fine Print

My friends, love is better than anger.
Hope is better than fear.
Optimism is better than despair.
So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic.
And we'll change the world.

Jack Layton (1950-2011) Farewell message to Canadians

Inuvik Roundtable on Arctic Offshore Drilling - Ottawa Forum Schedule

From September 10 to 16, 2011, the Canadian National Energy Board (NEB) is hosting their Arctic Offshore Drilling Review Roundtable Meeting in Inuvik. RESTCo is hosting a concurrent forum in Ottawa for those interested but unable to travel to Inuvik.

The schedule is subject to change. To date, we expect local presentations on the following topics.

  • Tour of the Canadian Museum of Science and Technology's Energy display and outreach program
  • Limitations of current oil spill cleanup technology in use by the major oil and gas companies
  • A superior oil cleanup technology developed in Canada
  • The real costs of oil spills

    Unless otherwise indicated in the schedule, all events will be held in the Canada Science and Technology Museum Conference Hall (1867 St. Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, Ontario K1G 5A3
    (Directions & Map)

    Date Time Event
    Monday
    September 12,
    2011
    11:00 - 11:30 EDT
    9:00 - 9:30 MDT
    RESTCo Welcomes Participants to the Ottawa Forum
    11:30 - 14:00 EDT
    9:30 - noon MDT
    1. Opening Prayer
    2. Welcoming Remarks by Gaétan Caron, Chair and CEO of the NEB
    3. Board Members Introduce Themselves
    4. Participants Introduce Themselves
    5. Remarks by Facilitator(s) on Logistics
    6. Part I: Understanding Participants’ Interests
    14:00 - 14:30 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    The National Energy Board’s Arctic Offshore Drilling Review (Video - March 2011)
    Robert Steedman, National Energy Board
    (speaking at 2011 Arctic Gas Symposium)
    14:30 - 15:00 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    The Beaufort Sea Project
    Dr. W.A. Adams
    15:00 - 15:30 EDT
    13:00 - 13:30 MDT
    Discussion Period
    15:30 - 19:30 EDT
    13:30 - 17:30 MDT
    Part I: Understanding Participants’ Interests (cont'd)
    Tuesday
    September 13,
    2011
    10:30 - 11:30 EDT
    8:30 - 9:30 MDT
    Canada Science and Technology Museum (CSTM) Welcomes Participants to the Ottawa Forum
    The CSTM Energy Outreach Program
    Tour of the CSTM Energy Exhibit
    Luc Fournier, Director, Corporate Communications, CSTM
    Stacy Wakeford, Director of Exhibitions
    Jason Armstrong, Exhibition Interpretation Officer
    11:30 - 14:00 EDT
    9:30 - noon MDT
    Part I: Understanding Participants’ Interests (cont'd)
    14:00 - 15:00 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    Spill Green Oil Cleanup Technologies
    Glenn Burton, Spill Green Inc.
    15:00 - 15:30 EDT
    13:00 - 13:30 MDT
    Discussion Period
    15:30 - 19:30 EDT
    13:30 - 17:30 MDT
    The Unique Arctic Environment
    Wednesday
    September 14,
    2011
    10:00 - 10:30 EDT
    7:30 - 9:30 MDT
    BP's Gusher May Be Gushing Again (Video)
    10:30 - 11:30 EDT
    7:30 - 9:30 MDT
    Blowout - Is Canada Next? (Video)
    11:30 - 14:00 EDT
    9:30 - noon MDT
    Regulatory Overview
    14:00 - 15:00 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    An Innovative Canadian Technology for Oil Spill Clean-up
    David Prior, Extreme Spill Technology
    15:00 - 15:30 EDT
    13:00 - 13:30 MDT
    Discussion Period
    15:30 - 19:30 EDT
    13:30 - 17:30 MDT
    Learnings
    Thursday
    September 15,
    2011
    11:30 - 14:00 EDT
    9:30 - noon MDT
    Drilling Safely
    14:00 - 15:00 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    Facing Climate Change: the Arctic Perspective
    John Streicker, BSc, M.Eng, P.Eng (President-elect, Green Party of Canada)
    (introduction by Jean-Luc Cooke, P.Eng.)
    15:00 - 15:30 EDT
    13:00 - 13:30 MDT
    Discussion Period
    15:30 - 19:30 EDT
    13:30 - 17:30 MDT
    Same Season Relief Well capability
    Friday
    September 16,
    2011
    10:30 - 11:30 EDT
    8:30 - 9:30 MDT
    Energy Efficient Housing for the North
    Peter Russell
    11:30 - 14:00 EDT
    9:30 - noon MDT
    Responding Effectively When Things Go Wrong
    14:00 - 15:00 EDT
    noon - 13:00 MDT
    Note change:
    Current Oil Spill Technology Remediation in the Real World
    Christopher Ives
    15:00 - 15:00 EDT
    13:00 - 13:0 MDT
    Discussion Period
    15:30 - 17:30 EDT
    13:30 - 15:30 MDT
    What is needed to respond?
    18:00 - 19:00 EDT
    16:00 - 17:00 MDT
    Closing
    1. NEB comments on Roundtable and Phase 3 of the Arctic Review
    2. Closing Remarks by Gaétan Caron
    3. Closing Prayer

    Legend for schedule:
    EDT = Eastern Daylight savings (Ottawa) Time
    MDT = Mountain Daylight savings (Inuvik) Time
    Yellow background = event in Ottawa
    White background = event in Inuvik (heard in Ottawa via NEB link [audio only])

    For logistics purposes, it would be helpful to the organizers to get a sense of who will be attending and when. To let us know when you plan to attend, please e-mail us and we will put you on the admission list. As we expect few people will be able (or want) to attend the full 5 days of the forum, we have elected to forego a formal fee for attendees. Instead, contributions will be accepted on a voluntary basis.

  • Contact Forum Moderator

    Ottawa Forum

    Ottawa Forum Schedule

    Background Documents

    Event Sponsors

    Presentations

    Ottawa Forum Synopsis

    Oil Spills in Sea Ice - Past, Present and Future
    Fermo, Italy, Sept. 20-23, 2011

    Fermo Conference Statement
    Fermo, Italy, October 7th, 2011

    Home Page Energy Risks Our Approach Solutions Forum About RESTCo Contact Us Library Links
    This site is powered by renewable energy! (All material on this Web site copyright RESTCo 2010, 2011 unless otherwise indicated.)